Skip to Content

LACP’s Third Annual Members’ Exhibition, 2016

Photo by Ali LeRoi, LACP Member and exhibiting artist.

Third Annual Members’ Exhibition at the dnj Gallery in Bergamot Art Station.

We are pleased to announce LACP’s Third Annual Members’ Exhibition. The exhibit will run from July 30 – August 27, 2016, with opening night scheduled for Saturday, July 30, 6-8 pm 2016. The opening reception will take place at the dnj Gallery located at Bergamot Station in Santa Monica.

The Los Angeles Center of Photography showcases our supporting Members? work with an annual exhibition. The exhibition, normally programmed in July of each year, is open to Members? only with the the opening reception at the dnj Gallery in Bergamot Station. If you wish to become a Member, please click here.

The Juror:

January Parkos Arnall is an interdisciplinary scholar and curator expert in photographic practice, theory and history, and grounded in modern and contemporary art movements in the United States. January is currently utilizing her comprehensive education in cultural studies and visual theory in her position within the curatorial department of the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles focusing on Public Engagement.

Exhibiting Artists:

Ali LeRoi, Amy Kanka Valadarsky, Andy House, Anne-Laure Autin, Barbara Ruffini, Bonnie Blake, Carl Shubs, Carl Volpe, Caryl Lightfoot, Cassandra Plavoukos, Christopher Sheils, Daniel C. Daugherty, Deborah Arlook, Desiree Richardson, Dotan Saguy, Eric Lassiter, Eric Politzer, France Leclerc, Francis Woods, Gay Ribisi, George Grubb, Gerhard Clausing, Hal Myers, Hanna Sliz, Izumi Tanaka, J.K. Lavin, James Kao, Jane Green, Jerry Weber, Jim Starks, Jr., Jonas Yip, Karen Hymer, Kevin Weinstein, Linda Alterwitz, Lori Pond, Lou Balicki, Louis Kravitz, Mae Koo, Marcela Angeles Macedo, Marian Crostic, Matthew Denman, Maureen Haldeman, Melissa Dagodag, Merrill Anderson, Nancy Kaye, Nancy Lehrer, Norman Schwartz, Paul Ivanushka, Paula Gibson, Rafal Maleszyk, Richard O’Neill, Sebastian Spader, Stephanie Sydney, Steven Adams, Tama Baldwin, Tami Bahat and Victoria Sebanz.

Statement from juror January Parkos Arnall:

“In reviewing the multitude of strong submissions for this year?s member exhibition, I was struck by the diversity of practices that constitute contemporary photography. It felt important to not only acknowledge a traditional art aesthetic and those working within an art historical lineage but also to recognize important contributions in commercial and documentary realms for their exquisite composition and craft. The photographers selected here have taken us on journeys, some to distant lands, some opening portals to the local we have never know, while others guide us deeply inside our own psyches and probe the culturally-ingrained assumptions that fabricate our social experience. At its best photography moves beyond its earned accolades as a window or marker of time, and finds itself conveying through its physicality a temporality that serves to evoke deep connection between viewer and artist.”

Opening Reception: Saturday, July 30, 2016, 6-8 pm

Exhibition Dates: July 30 ? August 27, 2016

Gallery Hours: Tuesday – Saturday, 10 am – 5 pm

Where: dnj Gallery, Bergamot Station, 2525 Michigan Avenue, Suite J1, Santa Monica, CA 90404

Admission: FREE

Parking: There is free parking at Bergamot Station