Skip to Content

LACP’s 2nd Annual Project Exhibition, 2022

Dec 15, 2022 – Feb 15, 2023

In 2020, the LACP team just finished installing a first annual project exhibition when the world shut down. The last nail was hammered into the wall as the official announcement of lockdown was released and shifted life as we had known for a very, very long time. As we are navigating the long-term effects of that moment, and are re-building toward an uncertain future, we wanted to reflect on where we had been and where we are all headed.

How are contemporary image-based artists processing the impact of the past two years? Did practices change? Have interests shifted? What are some of the universal themes and personal experiences that now drive photographic production? How did the experience of isolation impact the materials conditions of photographic practice, and how are artists revisiting previous modes of production now that they are able to go back to public labs, darkrooms and capture people outdoors and indoors again? What have we learned? What are we taking with us, and what are we leaving behind?

The Juror

Ann M. Jastrab 

Top Prize Winners

1st Place: B.A. Van Sise
2nd Place: Annette LeMay Burke
3rd Place: Marsha Guggenheim

Opening Night Reception/Holiday Party

Thursday, December 15, 7-9:30 pm PST, 2022. 481 S. Fairfax Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90036. RSVP HERE.

Online Galleries

We invite you to view the Online Galleries below for each exhibiting artist. Enjoy!
B.A Van Sise – First Place
Annette LeMay Burke – Second Place
Marsha Guggenheim – Third Place
Debra Achen – Honorable Mention
Debe Arlook – Honorable Mention
Sandra Klein – Honorable Mention
Ann Prochilo – Honorable Mention
Jacque Rupp – Honorable Mention
Corinne Cobabe Rushing – Honorable Mention
Jonas Yip – Honorable Mention

The Juror

Ann M. Jastrab is the Executive Director at the Center for Photographic Art (CPA) in Carmel, California. CPA strives to advance photography through education, exhibition and publication. These regional traditions—including mastery of craft, the concept of mentorship, and dedication to the photographic arts—evolved out of CPA’s predecessor, the renowned Friends of Photography established in 1967 by iconic artists Ansel Adams, Wynn Bullock and Cole Weston. While respecting these West Coast traditions, CPA is also at the vanguard of the future of photographic imagery.

Juror Statement

There is the memory of what was and the hope of what will be. There are endangered languages and those that speak them collaborating with the photographer to best express what could be lost. There are the projections of the past onto the last look at a childhood home, what a way to say goodbye, to relive the moments again. There is the delving into the archives of pictures to try to make sense of what happened decades before, healing at last. And those are just three projects of the many I looked at for the 2nd Annual Project Exhibition as LACP.

It was challenging to whittle down hundreds of images and portfolios to just ten. I saw works I recognized and work I’d never seen before. I thought of how the photographs look online as well as on the wall. There were some cases where I’d seen the work in person and the tactility of the objects was sublime, but then on a screen, the work didn’t translate at all. I had to consider how the work would be viewed. This was hard, as someone who likes nothing more than to behold a beautiful print in person. I’m also someone who looks at A LOT of work digitally, so I strove for a balance of some handmade images that still looked great without standing in front of them and cohesive projects that moved me, visually, emotionally, intellectually. I am grateful for this opportunity to have looked at so many incredible portfolios, some birthed in the darkest days of the pandemic, some unfolding over years and years, some finding their stride in recent months. It has been an honor. – Ann Jastrab, December 2022

Exhibiting Artists

Debra Achen, Debe Arlook, Annette LeMay Burke, Marsha Guggenheim, Sandra Klein, Ann Prochilo, Jacque Rupp, Corinne Cobabe Rushing, B.A Van Sise, and Jonas Yip